Tech

David Li (Consultant)

I met David Li in 2010, shortly after he had founded China’s first hackerspace in Shanghai. David told me about the burgeoning (new) shanzhai culture. As a programmer, David had worked for Google and Facebook in the U.S. While he was in Silicon Valley, he got to experience its maker culture and the discussions on open source and open design.

David helped me make contact with startups and their investors in Shenzhen and Shanghai. Thanks to him, I found out about the HAXLR8R startup accelerator, and met Chuan Angelo Yu and his team from Guiyang.

David co-founded the think-tank Hacked Matter with Anna Greenspan and Silvia Lindtner.

“Through studies done in Shenzhen and Shanghai, we found out that a robust maker-ecosystem already exists in China. This is very different to the situation in Western countries, which have yet to create this kind of ecosystem. The production system that has developed democratically and from the bottom up in China means that makers can advance their own innovations. We call this new shanzhai.”

“New shanzhai and open design are twins that were separated at birth. Bringing them back together now would give us access to unimagined possibilities.”

 
Cutterin

Tech

David Li (Beratung)

Ich traf David Li 2010 kurz nachdem er China’s ersten Hackerspace in Shanghai gegründet hatte. David erzählte mir von der sich rasant entwickelnden (New) Shanzhai-Kultur. Als Programmierer hat David in den USA für Google und Facebook gearbeitet. Im Silikon Valley hat er die Makerkultur und die Diskussionen um Open Source und Open Design miterlebt.

David Li ebnete mir den Weg zu Startups und deren Investoren in Shenzhen und Shanghai. Dank ihm traf ich im Startup Accelerator HAXLR8R Chuan Angelo Yu und sein Team aus Guiyang. Zusammen mit Anna Greenspan und  Silvia Lindtner gründetet David Li den Think Tank Hacked Matter.

„Dank Forschungen in Shenzhen und Shanghai fanden wir heraus, dass in China bereits ein solides Maker-Ökosystem vorhanden ist. Dies ist ganz anders als in den westlichen Ländern, wo ein solches erst noch aufgebaut werden muss. Dieses von unten demokratisch gewachsene Produktionssystem erlaubt es Makern ihre eigenen Innovationen voranzutreiben. Wir nennen das New Shanzhai.“

„New Shanzhai und Open Design sind Zwillinge, die bei der Geburt getrennt wurden. Wenn wir die beiden jetzt wieder zusammenbringen, öffnen sich ungeahnte Möglichkeiten“.

 
Cutterin